Feministische Geographie

kick off géographie féministe
kick off géographie féministeImage: ASG
logo ASG_GR thématique Géographie féministe

The national women's strike on 14 June 2019 in Switzerland or globally circulating hashtags on social media such as #Aufschrei (since 2013), #BlackLivesMatter (since 2013) #MeToo (since 2017) or #MeTwo (since 2018) have not only mobilized and connected thousands of people through and in digital spaces in recent years, making the diversity of positions and voices more visible. (Digital) social movements are also an example of how lived experiences of bodily inequality and discrimination are embedded in time-space structures and at the same time can produce new and/or alternative spaces of encounter, solidarity and resistance.

The gendered, racialized, sexualized and classified body in the historical presence often forms the starting point of feminist-geographical works and becomes the central site of political negotiation processes. The analysis of power from marginalized and silenced positions is of central importance. In addition to the socio-political concerns and interventions of feminist-geographical works, the focus is also on questions of sensitive and ethically responsible research and teaching practice. Thought and research perspectives, such as for example the perspective of the global intimate helps feminist geographers to unmask power relations that enable/disable participation in global capitalism and the way in which these power relations contribute to a politics of differences, everywhere and at any time.

Our objectives

The thematic group Feminist Geography was founded in autumn 2018. The central concern of the thematic group is to bring together feminist geographers of all academic levels at universities and research institutions in Switzerland beyond language barriers. Because at almost all universities and research institutions in Switzerland there are students, teachers and researchers with an interest in feminist geography, but who are often not connected to one another, especially across language and institutional boundaries. The aim of the thematic group is to create a platform for the exchange of gender-specific, queer, postcolonial and anti-racist perspectives in the fields of research, teaching and everyday academic life. Among other things, the thematic group is concerned with making feminist perspectives more visible, especially in geographical teaching and research.

Our first activities

At the 16th Swiss Geoscience Meeting in Bern in November 2018, the thematic group organized the session "Bodies, Space and Difference in the Global Intimate" during the Human Geography Symposium, thus for the first time creating space for feminist-geographical research at a Swiss Geoscience Meeting.
The GeoAgenda 2019/1 on "Feminist Geography" explores the history of feminist-geographical research and teaching in Switzerland and illustrates the added value of feminist-geographical perspectives for research into work and migration in nursing and health care.
At the 17th Swiss Geoscience Meeting in Fribourg in November 2019, the group will organise two dedicated sessions, one on technological intimacy and another on intersectionality, as part of the symposium number 21 "Human Geographies: Bodies, Cultures, Societies".
A networking meeting for feminist geographers at Swiss institutions is in process for the spring term 2020. Stay tuned!

Join us!

Since the end of 2018, the group has operated the swissfeministgeographies@listes.unige.ch mailing list. This mailing list is intended to facilitate the dissemination of knowledge and information (e.g. job offers, conferences, literature, websites, scholarships), to facilitate research cooperation requests for feminist-geographical research projects, to request feminist geographers for guest lectures, to exchange syllabi and teaching materials for feminist geography teaching in Switzerland and to organise feminist-geographical conferences or colloquia. In order to receive messages from this list and to be able to write messages, we kindly ask all interested parties to register by e-mail at karine.duplan@unige.ch or elisabeth.militz@giub.unibe.ch.

March for reproductive justice, Bern, 2018.
March for reproductive justice, Bern, 2018.

Leaders : Elisabeth Militz (UNIBE) et Karine Duplan (UNIGE-UNINE) – elisabeth.militz@giub.unibe.ch/page personnelle et karine.Duplan@unige.ch/page personnelle

Feministische Geographie

kick off géographie féministe
kick off géographie féministeBild: ASG
logo ASG_GR thématique Géographie féministe

Der nationale Frauenstreik am 14. Juni 2019 in der Schweiz oder global zirkulierende Hashtags auf sozialen Medien wie #Aufschrei (seit 2013), #BlackLivesMatter (seit 2013) #MeToo (seit 2017) oder #MeTwo (seit 2018) haben in den letzten Jahren nicht nur tausende von Menschen durch und in digitalen Räumen mobilisiert, vernetzt und dadurch die Vielfältigkeit von Positionen und Stimmen sichtbarer gemacht. (Digitale) soziale Bewegungen sind auch ein Beispiel dafür, wie gelebte, körperliche Ungleichheits- und Diskriminierungserfahrungen in raumzeitliche Strukturen eingebettet sind und gleichzeitig neue und/oder alternative Räume der Begegnung, der Solidarität und des Widerstands hervorbringen können.

Der vergeschlechtlichte, rassifizierte, sexualisierte und klassifizierte Körper in der historischen Gegenwart bildet dabei oft den Ausgangspunkt feministisch-geographischer Arbeiten und wird zum zentralen Ort politischer Aushandlungsprozesse. Der Analyse von Macht aus marginalisierten und zum Schweigen gebrachten Positionen heraus, kommt dabei eine zentrale Bedeutung zu. Neben den gesellschaftspolitischen Anliegen und Interventionen feministisch-geographischer Arbeiten stehen auch Fragen nach einer sensiblen und ethisch verantwortungsbewussten Forschungs- und Lehrpraxis im Zentrum. Denk- und Forschungsperspektiven, wie beispielsweise die der globalen Intimität hilft feministischen Geograph*innen Machtverhältnisse, die die Teilhabe am globalen Kapitalismus ermöglichen/verhindern, und die Art und Weise, wie diese Machtverhältnisse zu einer Politik der Unterschiede beitragen, überall und jederzeit zu entlarven.

Unsere Anliegen

Die Themengruppe Feministische Geographie wurde im Herbst 2018 gegründet. Das zentrale Anliegen der Themengruppe ist es feministische Geograph*innen aller akademischer Niveaus an Hochschulen und Forschungsinstitutionen in der Schweiz jenseits von Sprachbarrieren zusammenzubringen. Denn an fast allen Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen in der Schweiz gibt es Studierende, Lehrende und Forschende mit Interesse für feministische Geographien, die aber besonders über Sprach- und Instutionsgrenzen hinweg oft wenig miteinander vernetzt sind. Ziel der Themengruppe ist es eine Plattform zu schaffen für den Austausch von geschlechtsspezifischen, queeren, postkolonialen und antirassistischen Perspektiven in den Bereichen Forschung, Lehre und akademischer Alltag. Unter anderem geht es der Themengruppe darum feministische Perspektiven vor allem auch in der geographischen Lehre und in der geographischen Forschung sichtbarer zu machen.

Unsere ersten Aktivitäten

Auf dem 16. Swiss Geoscience Meeting in Bern, im November 2018 hat die Themengruppe die Session „Bodies, Space and Difference in the Global Intimate“ während dem humangeographischen Symposium organisiert und damit erstmals dezidiert Raum für feministisch-geographische Forschung auf einem Swiss Geoscience Meeting geschaffen.
Die GeoAgenda 2019/1 zum Thema „Feministische Geographie“ thematisiert unter anderem die Geschichte feministisch-geographischer Forschung und Lehre in der Schweiz und illustriert den Mehrwert feministisch-geographischer Perspektiven für die Erforschung von Arbeit und Migration in der Pflege und im Gesundheitswesen.
Auf dem 17. Swiss Geoscience Meeting in Fribourg im November 2019 organisiert die Themengruppe zwei Themensitzungen, eine zu Intersektionalität und eine zu intimen Körpertechnologien im Rahmen des Symposiums Nummer 21 „Human Geographies: Bodies, Cultures, Societies“.
Im Frühjahr 2020 ist ein Vernetzungstreffen für feministische Geograph*innen an Schweizer Institutionen geplant. Bleibt informiert!

Macht mit!

Seit Ende 2018 betreibt die Themengruppe die Mailingliste swissfeministgeographies@listes.unige.ch. Diese Mailingliste soll die Wissens- und Informationsverbreitung (z.B. Stellenangebote, Konferenzen, Literatur, Websites, Stipendien) erleichtern, Forschungskooperationsanfragen für feministisch-geographische Forschungsprojekte ermöglichen, feministische Geograph*innen für Gastvorträge anzufragen, Syllabi und Lehrmittle für den feministischen Geographieunterricht in der Schweiz auszutauschen und feministisch-geographische Konferenzen oder Kolloquien zu organisieren. Um Nachrichten dieser Liste empfangen und selber schreiben zu können, bitten wir alle Interessierten sich per E-mail an karine.duplan@unige.ch oder elisabeth.militz@giub.unibe.ch zu registrieren.

March for reproductive justice, Bern, 2018.
March for reproductive justice, Bern, 2018.

Leaders : Elisabeth Militz (UNIBE) et Karine Duplan (UNIGE-UNINE) – elisabeth.militz@giub.unibe.ch/page personnelle et karine.Duplan@unige.ch/page personnelle